Being Accountable: Sometimes Crazy Ideas Help

As a teacher, I often hear the word accountability thrown around a lot. Of course, I hold my students accountable for their work, as an educator, I am held accountable to meeting certain standards, teaching the curriculum, filing out this form and that paper, etc. With all of the roles and requirements heaped upon me as an educator, I sometimes lose sight of the fact that I need to make time to take care of me, not in the selfish all about me mode, but the I need to take care of me to better help and serve you mode.

I’ve been trying to be a little more aware of my health (as in let’s try to lose a few pounds, be more aware of what I’m putting in my body, and engage in more meaningful activity/ movement) and as such connected to a Facebook group through one of my Jamberry nail friends. I’m still part of that group, but then I got to thinking “What if I created a secret Facebook group for my friends to help keep us accountable to our health and fitness goals?” Two months ago, I did just that.

Here’s what happened:

  1. I was made more accountable to my own health and fitness as just like teaching, I can’t ask my students to do something I wouldn’t do.
  2. I learned how to use Tiny Torch  to schedule posts so I can sleep in or travel without “worrying” about not having a daily motivational post or check in.
  3. I started to do 30 day fitness challenges that alone I would have stopped at on day 10 or so, but I was accountable to the other ladies in the challenge to DO IT.

So, what started as a crazy “what if. . .” has turned into two months and counting of being accountable for the actions I take towards my health and fitness. Here’s to the ladies that motivate and inspire me. Thank you!

IMG_9827

Leave a comment